Home > Books > Erotica > Diary of a Dominatrix
Genres


Action/Adventure

All Ages

Biographies & Memoirs

Comedy & Satire

Crime

Erotica

Fantasy

Historical

Horror

Literature & Fiction

Manga

Non-Fiction

Romantic Themes

Science Fiction

Surrealism

Thrillers

War

Young Adult

Looking for a local retailer near you? Click here!
Book Review < Back

Diary of a Dominatrix

Credits: Written and Illustrated by Molly Kiely
Publisher: Fantagraphics Books

Commentary

Raunchy, campy and fun, DIARY OF A DOMINATRIX is the perfect holiday gift for fans of John Waters and May West. In fact, if you teared up during Priscilla: Queen of the Desert and particularly if you own the soundtrack you should buy a copy of DIARY for yourself, too. If you like cowgirls and road trips and if you know the pain and humiliation of squeezing yourself into vinyl pants, buy two, because Zelda Zonk, out titular Dominatrix, is your kind of gal.

And anyway, you'll need two as you're going to want to cut out the paper dolls and glue them to magnets for your refrigerator, because honey, da Vinci's David is getting old and your magnetic poetry is not nearly as deep as you think. That's right - paper dolls! Part narrative, part dirty picture book, part tongue-in-cheek how-to manual, Zelda's DIARY is a veritable ACTIVITY BOOK OF NAUGHTY NAUGHTY GOOD TIMES! Don't miss Zelda's S/M-oriented guide to shopping at your local rural farm co-op: "They tend to stock the more heavy duty items you'll need." Travel tips: Nevada Club in Ely, Nevada "Highly recommended" Cowboy Fetish Guide! Ribbon Bondage and CBT How-To! Circumcisions and Vasectomies for the Beginner! (Yes, it's really in there, and No, of course you cannot really perform surgery safely at home.)

So, when you're making that holiday/birthday/cast party/retirement shopping list, remember: there's something in DIARY OF A DOMINATRIX to make every fashionable, good-natured, sex-positive pervert smile. And I think you'll agree, especially during this joyous season, smiling perverts is a vision of the future we can all embrace.

-- Kelly Sue DeConnick

 
Kelly Sue DeConnick relocated from Brooklyn, New York to Kansas City, MO, where she lives with her husband and artbomb.net colleague, Matt Fraction. Kelly Sue writes the English adaptations of several manga titles published by Tokyopop and Viz. She can be found on the web at kellysue.com.

 


home | browse books | browse creators | online comics | ammo | store | about us | contact us | mailing list

Artbomb.net and all site content is copyright (c) 2002-2003 Brain8 LLC.
All rights reserved. All images are copyright of their respective owners.